Welcome!

Welcome to my blog!

I guess the purpose of this post is to introduce this blog. I’ve just wrapped up 4 years of university and I’ve been meaning to start this up for a while but haven’t had enough time. Now I have a 4 month break before I start working full time, so no better time to start. I had written up a few reviews over the past few years, but they were so sporadic and unstructured that a fresh start would be best.

So what’s this blog going to be about? I should start with the inspiration behind it. If I trace my interest of films back to the originating point, it would lead to Harry Potter. As an avid reader, Harry Potter was my life (and still is). And of course the films were just as magical to me as the books. This is how I first started collecting DVDs, movie posters, clippings from newspapers and watching endless YouTube videos of cast interviews. I was also introduced to the world of film-making, learning what the director, producer, DoP do and exploring behind-the-scenes features. I began to build my knowledge of actors, like Dame Maggie Smith, Alan Rickman and Ralph Fiennes, to name a few. This is where the seeds were planted. This grew into an insatiable interest with all aspects of film-making and the ultimate bliss of escaping into the world of the films.

Back to this blog. The name came from the feeling when you finish watching such an absorbing and beautiful film where you wish it had never ended, and you feel this sense of longing and sadness. You wish you could just talk to someone who’s seen it too, who’s been there. Someone who gets how good the film was, gets how you feel. So this will be the place where I share my thoughts and opinions on films I’ve watched, and a place where you can leave a comment too. A place, hopefully, to share in that precious after-moment of film-watching.

I’ll be ranking the films I review according to how “depressed” I felt after watching it; the more depressed, the more I liked it, as contradictory as that sounds. These are my own opinions, which may differ from others, so discussion is welcome.

I’ll also be putting in discussion questions at the bottom of each review. These will specific questions that I have about the film which hopefully one of you can help me answer, or more open-ended questions designed to generate discussion. Feel free to contribute, there’s not right or wrong answers here.

On that note, let’s begin! 🙂

P.S. I suck at writing concisely, so please bear with my rambling, especially if I didn’t have time to edit haha.

Leave a Reply

